Telling my story of hope…

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” – Ephesians 3:20-21 NKJV

 Telling my story….

 I’ve been praying and thinking, sitting in the quietness alone. Wondering how can I get my creative juices flowing once again and write something that can bless others…

 I remember every time I wrote an article or story that was deep and profound was at a time of despair or when my heart was heavy. I remember at age thirteen, sitting against the Trenton State Prison wall, crying because I wasn’t granted permission to visit my father. That was the beginning of my search for a father’s love. It was years later at age 21 that death brought me to a place of knowing who our heavenly father was. It was through earthly heartache, I found the true meaning of life and death. It was through despair that I found hope. I was in my ninth month of pregnancy of my daughter Maria, when I learned my brother’s wife had been killed in an accident while they were moving to their new home on the Navy Barracks in Virginia. My heart ached with despair. I didn’t have a relationship with God. I questioned how could he allow such a beautiful Christian woman die with two children left behind and a husband who loved her so much. How can these things happen? It was her death that brought me to my knees. It was through heartache a generation has been saved. I think now of Christ’s death on the cross. How he loved us so. I know without a shadow of doubt that there is a heaven and I will meet her there someday. As I grow older, I think of these things more often. I hope and pray my children will feel the peace and assurance that only God can give when my time comes to move on into eternity. Through living we learn about life, through death, we learn to live life. I pray daily for God to reach us all with his grace and mercy. I ask that the little girl in me be pushed out of the way and allow the woman of God step forward and share the story of how God showed me how to live despite the cold wall of prison that separated me from my earthly father. The walls of hopelessness and despair were destroyed as our heavenly father revealed himself to me through this life of many twists and turns over the years. I started writing a book about my life’s story and I put aside for awhile, but lately God has been nudging my heart to continue my writing. So as I start my journey to finish my story, I will be taking a break from writing on my blog. Although, I will be visiting you with a few short messages here and there!

 My message today comes from concern for those hurting this holiday season. I hope to bring a message of prayer and expectation to those who need it most.

 I hear and see people carrying hurts, hardships and traumas from the past and present.

How can they have hope and healing? I ask myself. I think of the mother who lost both her daughters at age 21. How can she carry on with the emptiness in her life? What about the mothers and fathers who have a son or daughter sitting in prison? Think about the child whose parent is addicted to drugs, the parents whose child is addicted to drugs, and the son or daughter who grew up with a void in their heart because a parent was not there for them.  How can we offer them a message of hope? Then I remember what gave me hope and strength to carry on…

 When I thought of those I’ve lost over the years, I remembered the grace of God that carried me through the heartache. I remembered the promises of God that echoed in my mind and shook my soul. I thought of the moments I could not think of hope. When any of my children were at the edge of the door to destruction, I knew that my God could hold them steady and not allow them to fall! I knew that my God is the God of all miracles-big and small. I knew that it had to be hope that carried me through. For without hope there is unbearable despair. God can heal our broken hearts and allow us to move on in life with an attitude of giving to others the hope we have experienced. God can fill our lives with people and purpose that will fill the void heartache had left behind.

How do we give others hope in their time of need? I believe the greatest thing we can do is to pray, pray and pray for God’s grace to carry them through. Then stand back and watch what miracles God will do. The empty arms of a mother will soon be carrying a lonely child. The addict whose been delivered will be sharing their story and leading those who are headed for destruction into a loving God’s arms!

As a child, I grew up in a hurry. As a teen, I gave birth to a child at a young age of seventeen, As a mother, I carried a mountain of burden that only God could destroy and rebuild. I came to a place of hopelessness after years of trying to fix it on my own. It was then I saw God’s grace and mercy move the mountain that tried to steal my joy! Although, at times, I felt there was no hope, I knew that grabbing onto God’s arm was the only way to carry on. When I experienced a sense of hopelessness; it was then I knew that with God all things are possible. He can do the impossible.

 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” – Ephesians 3:20-21 NKJV

Tell others-Just as God carries us through our times of despair, we know he can do it for you!

2 thoughts on “Telling my story of hope…

  1. Thanks, Marilyn
    Sometimes God is nudging and I need a push!
    Stepping out and sharing our stories can be difficult at times, but we must obey and tell the world what our savior has done for us!
    God bless, Tina

Leave a Reply

