Do not be anxious for nothing…

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:4-7)

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:12-13)

Do not be anxious for nothing….

In the book of Philippians, God’s Word talks to us about trusting in Him and how to avoid the fears and frustration that we face when we try to do everything on our own. Lately, I have seen God put people in my son’s life that are blessing him. I have seen God use them to bring a positive change in him and his outlook on life.  Our so-called ‘little acts of kindness’ can change someone’s destiny. Our ‘acts’ can change a generation!

I always tell my kids “If it is broke-fix it.” If we are learning from our mistakes, then that is a good thing. We find ways to reconcile our differences, mend the fences, change our course in life…..

That all sounds so good, but how can we accomplish this without trusting God to move in our circumstances? The truth of the matter is-we can not have the peace and strength to live through the many difficult times on this earth without knowing how to guard our hearts and minds. God gives us the peace that surpasses all understanding. God’s Word is our guide book for life. God’s Word is our treasure. Do we treat each message given to us as it is a valuable piece of treasure?

Over the past 30 years, I have seen God work many miracles and transform many lives. I know what it is to have and to have not.

I have been that woman who knocks and knocks on the door until God answers her request. I know what it is like to put my children in God’s hands and know that there is no better place for them to be. I have filled many buckets in heaven with tears as I prayed through heartaches and trials. I have rejoiced in many miraculous moments and have learned –I have to thank my Lord for all that has come my way, for I know that everything must pass through his mighty hand first.  When I hear of the heartache that many people are going through, I know that I must pray for them. I must trust God to work many miracles. If we have faith the size of a mustard seed, then God will move mountains for us! Our blessings are many. We do not earn any of these, for all that Christ has done for us on the cross is a gift from almighty god. We, his children are blessed beyond imagination. All we have to do is ask, and receive. Put our hope and trust in God’s Word and live with an attitude of expectation. Expect our family and friends to experience God’s best and stand in the gap when we don’t see what we want to see.

I remember specifically one Sunday, I put one of my brother’s pictures in a bin at the alter. He didn’t believe in God. All the pictures that were put in that bin were prayed over for months. One afternoon, my brother came to my work and told me he had come to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. He had been delivered of many things. Christ changed his life. To this day, he has faced death, three times over and is still living a blessed life!

Never give up on anyone. Our trust is in God and that is enough to move any mountain.

Leave a Reply

